When a song is stuck in your head

There are some songs that simply ‘stick’ in your head. And they won’t leave.

Sometimes they’re good songs. Sometimes they’re simply harmless.

But sometimes, they are not the slightest bit good and can be harmful.

The problem is that they’re stuck. Like they won’t stop playing on replay in your head. Over and over and over and over and over and over and over and….well you get the point: over and over again.

I’ve found that often the only thing that will get a bad song out of your head, is to get a good one stuck there instead.

Because a having a good song stuck in your head is actually a good thing, not a bad thing, (although sometimes it can get annoying when the replay button won’t stop).

I believe Satan has figured out very well how to make trashy music catchy. It really is catchy and that becomes a huge problem when we are trying to keep our thoughts clean and pure. Because catchy music is the stuff that plays over and over and over in our heads.

Some or the songs we want to listen to are the kind that get stuck in your head. Others songs are good for thinking about, meditating on, relaxing to, or singing in a congregation. We really do need all of those.

Sometimes we can think of Christian ‘catchy’ songs as shallow. Or just something to have fun with, to play around with. That’s not always true. (Although it definitely can be) What we need are songs that are full of biblical truth that will stay in your head and stick there.

Often we can get in the habit of categorizing styles of music all in one category. For instance the genre “Pop”. My computer has an automatic genre categorizer. The “Pop” genre has 9 songs in it. Wanna guess what those songs are and who they’re by?

  • I Stand Amazed (How Marvelous) by Chris Tomlin
  • I Could Sing of Your Love Forever (by some generic thing)
  • Hosanna (also by some generic thing)
  • Gold by Britt Nicole
  • Lead Me by Sanctus Real
  • Four songs by TobyMac (figures) including Get Back Up and Hold On

What are those songs? Gold by Britt Nicole is probably more of a fun song, but I Stand Amazed or Lead Me? Solid truth. Beautiful music.

TobyMac is also awesome, by the way.

The world looks at the genre “Pop” and thinks way different things than the Christian music that got categorized there.

When Christian music is packed with truth, stays there, and plays on replay in your head, that has got to be a good thing. Which is one reason why I don’t think clean, God-honoring, God-praising, Jamie Grace or TobyMac style rap is bad. At all. I think it is wonderful. Even if some of it isn’t quite my style.

Sometimes we can take a style of music that doesn’t really come across to us, see the world using it badly, and then condemn it.

Often we won’t really condemn it, at least not openly, but we will very often put it at a lower level than our style or think of it as not equally as praise-worthy as hymns. It actually sort of sounds right.

A word about hymns. Hymns have been around for hundreds of years. Sometimes thousands. For instance the Psalms. They have been tested and tried true. For hundreds of years. We can still analyze hymn lyrics and make sure they completely line up with the bible. Some hymns aren’t quite right (in very minor half-degrees), for instance, many Christmas carols talk about Jesus being born on a cold winters night (a bit of an exaggeration, I know).

While hymns are for the most part accurate and trustworthy, new music has to be taken carefully. We need to think carefully about what exactly we are proclaiming to God and not be the slightest bit afraid to take scripture alongside and makes sure the lyrics of a song line up. Particularly when you are going to be singing it with fellow brothers and sisters in Christ in church and proclaiming to God.

But there is still a bit of a problem with putting solid, clean, truth-filled music or rap on a lower level than hymns. For instance, someone once told me:

 Personally, I don’t think there will be rock n roll, rap, etc in heaven. But, I could also say the same thing about bluegrass.

It is really easy to start thinking this way. For me and a lot of people I know, there is a point where rocky music or rap gets a little beyond us. We don’t connect and how someone could we don’t know. Take note that I’m talking once again about solid, clean, edifying, truth-filled music.

So where is the problem with thinking that maybe hymns are a little more….well on a higher level or that there will probably not be rap in heaven? It’s what logically follows.

Let’s say one person praises God with joyous raps. Another person praises God with melodious hymns. Both praise God from the fullness of their heart. Both do it humbly. Both do not take God’s name in vain. The question that follows is this:

Which one glorifies God the most?

Neither one. Both glorify God equally. The style doesn’t matter. But the meaning, the humility, the state of the heart does. Entirely. So yes. I think rap, bluegrass, perhaps even rock n roll styles will be in heaven.

Oh, by the way, do you know who started reggae, even rap? The Israelites. Check out Hineh Ma Tov, which is really just Psalm 139. Guess what instruments they used in the temple? Harps, the Shofar (I think it is generally translated as trumpet), lyres, drums, rattles, and cymbals.

Doesn’t actually sound a whole lot like the modern hymn for some reason. It also doesn’t sound a whole lot like a megachurch either. Funny it doesn’t mention microphones…..I wonder how loud those clashing cymbals and trumpets (or the shofar) were.

I have a feeling that I just went on a long rant and no longer remember where I am…………………………………………………………………………………………

All that to say that a song can be catchy and stick in your head and that does not determine whether it is a good song or not. Whatever would we do without any good, God-honoring songs that got stuck in your head?

Okay, so pretty much the whole point of this post was to………………..

Share some good songs for you to get stuck in your head!


(As well as tell you that TobyMac is awesome. He is actually. Yes I know he can be a bit funky from what I’ve seen, but the way he always points it all to God and trains up other musicians to do the same, telling them that the lights, the stage, the everything doesn’t matter only God matters, is really amazing for someone………. with such a big stage I guess. He really does have a wonderful ministry. Also, unlike so many others who claim to be Christians and have songs with the same style, TobyMac’s music is all clean. You should just listen to his songs Steal My Show and Me Without You)


Very helpful, I’m sure. Actually and seriously, it might be helpful.

I found myself in a similar situation this morning where I had heard a not so great song that someone had played (don’t worry, I told them I didn’t like it but that doesn’t stop it from being in my head) and it was stuck in my head.

So I wanted to get it out (that is, the song) and tried brain-storming truth packed songs that can stick things other than themselves out of your head. (Did that even make sense?)

So here you go. I’ve tried to include some variety of style in each of them. Enjoy.


Should’ve Been Me by Citizen Way

I love this song. It’s something that’s so true and really does get stuck in my head. You can sing over and over again

Should’ve been me, should’ve been us, should’ve been there hanging on a cross

All of this shame, all of these scars, should’ve been stains that were never washed

Why do I hide, why do you try, over and over and over again

I guess it leaves me saying thank God, thank God, for the should’ve been.

When my sister first heard the first 30 seconds of it, she said she didn’t like it. Then I made her listen to all of it and now she loves it. At least I think she loves it. It’s also a nice short song and the chorus is one you can easily remember and can you know……get-stuck-in-your-head-in-a-good-way. Long word. Not really a word.

This is actually gonna be the featured song for this week.


I am a Christian by NewSong

I love how this song simply proclaims:

“I am a Christian and my name is pilgrim (I know it’s sort of mixed up cause according to Pilgrim’s Progress it’s “I am a pilgrim and my name is Christian)

I’m on a Journey but I’m not alone

Jesus is with me and he goes before me,

And his love surrounds me, he’s leading me home”

That’s all I’ll say.


Face to Face by Matt Kearney

This song LITERALLY GETS STUCK IN MY HEAD. Sometimes it can get annoying….but it is SOOO much better than a not good song. I really do love this song. Also, this is the version without the annoying background noise that some people actually like?

My favorite is part is where it goes:

I hear your thunder pouring like rain

Down on the mountain of all my mistakes

Rolling like rivers, running with grace

Into the ocean of your embrace.

Etc.


Different by Micah Tyler

This is probably one of my top songs ever. I truly long to be different, to be changed, till all of me is gone and all that remains is a fire so bright the whole world can see.

There are so many times when I’m so tired of feeling like I’m stuck in a pattern and I’m just so tired of it and I listen to this song, and for some reason, it comforts me a little.

I know, that I am far from perfect
But through You, the cross still says I’m worth it
So take this beating in my heart and
Come and finish what You started
When they see me, let them see You
‘Cause I just wanna be different…….etc.


Light Shine Bright by TobyMac

Yep. Definitely gets stuck in your head.

I wanna magnify Your light
I wanna reflect the sun
Cut like precious diamonds
With the colors by the millions
This is the only world we know
And for now this rental’s our home
If we gonna be a reflection
Gotta make this third rock glow
Just so you know 


Sky Spills Over by Michael W. Smith

Another great song. Particularly if you really like Michael W. Smith. Gets stuck in your head but once again, in a good way. More like an anthem, sort of.

Lift your eyes
Look to the horizon now
There’s still a hope for us
Reach up from the dust
And call it down

Can you hear
Can you hear that thunder
Sing His name, sing it out
‘Til the sky spills over


Run, Devil, Run by Crowder

Don’t be worried by the guy with the cigarette or whatever in the video. That’s supposed to be the devil. Crowder seriously had way too much fun making the video. Love this song. The devil’s got no power anymore! He’s been defeated!

I got the King of kings and the Lords of hosts
I got angel armies and the Holy Ghost
I got spirit filled, baptized by fire
I got a valley of bones that came alive
I got a cross, a hill, and an empty grave
I got a trumpet sound and one sweet name
Shake the gate of hell, it’s finished and done
I got my Jesus and the devil gotta run


Scars by I Am They

This is a newer song that I’m really starting to like. I am so thankful for his scars.

So I’m thankful for the scars
‘Cause without them I wouldn’t know Your heart
And I know they’ll always tell of who You are
So forever I am thankful for the scars


Battles by The Afters

Definitely gets stuck in my head!! I love this song.

You surround me on every side
Your love is my armor I fear no evil.
Darkness runs from your light
So I won’t be afraid, I won’t be afraid.

You’re going before me
And oceans are parting
You’re fighting my battles.
When my feet are failing
And my heart is shaking
You’re fighting my battles.


God’s Not Dead by The Newsboys

The final and perhaps the best. A wonderful classic. Our God is not dead. He is alive.

Let heaven roar
And fire fall
Come shake the ground
With the sound
Of revival

My God’s not dead
He’s surely alive
He’s living on the inside
Roaring like a lion


Hope you enjoyed this post and that you found it helpful or will find it helpful. God be with you!

Praise the Lord!

“Praise the Lord!
Praise God in His sanctuary;
Praise Him in His mighty expanse.
Praise Him for His mighty deeds;
Praise Him according to His excellent greatness.

Praise Him with trumpet sound;
Praise Him with harp and lyre.
Praise Him with timbrel and dancing;
Praise Him with stringed instruments and pipe.
Praise Him with loud cymbals;
Praise Him with resounding cymbals.
Let everything that has breath praise [i]the Lord.
Praise the Lord!”

-Psalm 150 (NASB)

(The featured photo is from the free Pexels photo library. It was sort of cool, so I liked it and chose it for the featured picture.)

Author: Faith on the Farm

I’m just a Christian girl who’s striving to glorify God here on the farm. I love sunsets, roses, my dog, and about everything you can photograph on a farm. As you’ve probably guessed, I love photography. When I’m not singing or working on schoolwork, you’ll probably find me cooking, practicing cello, or somewhere outside with my dog by my side and camera in hand.